FRONT DESIGN The Long Goodbye
Produced by David Thomas.

Cherry Red Records
Released July 12 2019
CDBRED747, cd
BRED747, vinyl lp

Pre-order the vinyl or cd at here.
As tangled in shadows and slicing observation as Raymond Chandler's namesake novel, the album - layered in dense, pictorial electronics - evokes Ubu's early riff-driven reckoning in the electro-garage opener "What I Heard on the Pop Radio” and the high-noon noir “Flicking Cigarettes at the Sun.” The darkness and programming closes in even tighter as Thomas crosses a nation of ravaged landscapes and battered dreams in the long spoken fever of “The Road Ahead.” (“I am the last of the Americans,” he notes at one juncture. “After us come barbarians.”) But there is small, potent kindness too in “Fortunate Son” — that Creedence Clearwater Revival song comes up on a jukebox at a Waffle House — and The Long Goodbye actually culminates in light: the seaside reverie of “Lovely Day.” - David Fricke, Rolling Stone

"I can't believe Thomas and his crew have ever bothered to listen to pop radio, despite Thomas' claims to the contrary on the press release. I mean why would they when they can come up with this glorious stuff?" - Rupert Loydell, International Times

"In over forty years, he has written pages amongst the most beautiful and atypical of the avant-rock...solemn alien voice, jazz echoes, rough sips, gloomy atmospheres, hallucinations and restlessness. Moreover, Pere Ubu have never been 'normal.'" - Federico Guglielmi, Stone Music (Italy) -

" avant garde bastard in the best sense, which in its consequence comes close to the experiments of the Flaming Lips or Tom Waits at the time of 'Frank's Wild Years.' "- Good Times (Germany)

"The brilliant 'Flicking Cigarettes At The Sun' transports his band back to a sweaty CBGBs in the late 70s, with coarse synth lines and impenetrable Beat-inspired poetry." - Electronic Magazine (UK)

The vibes novelistic on this "end of the road" album... 8/10" - John Lewis, Uncut Magazine

CD Package:
[The album]
  1. What I Heard On The Pop Radio
  2. Marlowe
  3. Flicking Cigarettes At The Sun
  4. Road Is A Preacher
  5. Who Stole The Signpost?
  6. The World (As We Can Know It)
  7. Fortunate Son
  8. The Road Ahead
  9. Skidrow-on-Sea
  10. Lovely Day

['Montreuil,' the bonus disk in the CD package]
  1. Heart Of Darkness
  2. Flicking Cigarettes At The Sun
  3. Marlowe
  4. What I Heard On The Pop Radio
  5. Road Is A Preacher
  6. Who Stole The Signpost?
  7. The World (As We Can Know It)
  8. Fortunate Son
  9. The Road Ahead
  10. Skidrow-on-Sea
  11. Lovely Day
  12. Road to Utah
  13. Running Dry
  14. Highwaterville

LP Running Order:
Side 1
  1. What I Heard On The Pop Radio
  2. Marlowe
  3. Flicking Cigarettes At The Sun
  4. Road Is A Preacher
  5. Who Stole The Signpost?
  6. The World (As We Can Know It)
Side 2
  1. Fortunate Son
  2. The Road Ahead
  3. Skidrow-on-Sea
  4. Lovely Day
Pere Ubu explained If you really want to understand what Pere Ubu does, read this.

Podcasts: UbuDub #1 and UbuDub #2

Links and Background:
Band Photos and related ArtworkBioLyrics • Video for What I Heard On The Pop Radio.

Follow Ubu Projex news on: Subscribe to the Ubu email newsletterTwitterFacebookTumblr

Release Notes:
The new album by Pere Ubu, 'The Long Goodbye’ is the end of a road. David Thomas has been talking about Pere Ubu’s journey on the road to Satisfied City for many years but he has now declared that they have arrived. Named after Raymond Chandler’s novel, Mr Thomas says, ‘This wraps up every song and story that Pere Ubu has been telling in different ways for the past forty plus years. It is one definitive hour that provides the answers to the questions we’ve been asking and delivers it up into what I consider the definitive destination.”

This Pere Ubu album does not sound like any of the others. It has a large expanse of synths due to Thomas writing and arranging the songs alone with his private collection of drum machines, synthesizers and, uh, a melodeon… before sending it out to the other musicians in Pere Ubu’s extensive fold, with invitation for them to take it on and make it more.

Gagarin and Wheeler took up the challenge and embed complex electronica into the multi-faceted landscape. Peter Jørgens’ outré percussion adds a tribal dimension, while guitarists Moliné and Temple, along with clarinetist, Darryl Boon, complete this unique fusion of techno meets trad rock meets… the avant garage.

‘I’d been listening to commercial pop radio non-stop for months,’ David Thomas says. ‘That’s what I wanted to rewrite and reimagine. Pop music shouldn’t be without meaning or truthfulness. We live in desperate towns and we keep on going regardless of the stench. It’s not often you’re gonna find the answers. If ever. But here is pop music the way it should sound.’

Bonus CD – ‘Montreuil’
In December 2018, former band member Chris Cutler rejoined the group for a December gig in France. David Thomas, Chris Cutler, Gagarin and Keith Moliné played the entire album to a packed theatre in Montreuil, Paris, simply because they didn’t want to play anything else - the new album had fired an enthusiasm in them that they didn't want to ignore. Considering they had only played it for the first time two days before, and considering the tracks were not even finalised in the studio, the concert was an astonishing feat that had the audience baying for more. This concert is included as a bonus disc in CD format. It is a fascinating insight into the first incarnations of the music and again shows how a studio album is only one view of the infamous Pere Ubu cup.

Album Personnel:
David Thomas: vocals, analog synthesizers, melodeon, drum program
Keith Molinè: electric guitar
Gagarin: digital synthesizers, drum program
Robert Wheeler: Theremin, analog synthesizers
Darryl Boon: clarinet
Michele Temple: electric and upright bass
P. O. Jørgens: drum kit, percussion
Also appearing: Gary Siperko, electric guitar

Montreuil Personnel:
David Thomas: vocals
Keith Molinè: electric guitar
Gagarin: digital synthesizers, drum program
Chris Cutler: drum kit, percussion

Recorded in back rooms and Ninth World Studio, Fredensborg, Denmark
Mastered by Nick Watson, Fluid Mastering
Cover design: Kiersty Boon
Management: Kiersty Boon

All songs written by David Thomas, ©2019 Cherry Red Songs, under exclusive license from Hearpen Music

Back to the Top

Main Pages at the Home of Ubu Projex:
CalendarContactsHomeReferenceProtocolsUbutique (Shop) • Press Center

garage icon
An Irony-Free™ Site

Copyright & Terms of UsageSite MapAbout Us
Twitter: @ubuprojex • Pere Ubu Facebook: official.ubu