pere-ubu-new-picnic-time ART
New Picnic Time
  • Fabulous Sequel
  • 49 Guitars And One Girl
  • A Small Dark Cloud
  • Small Was Fast
  • All The Dogs Are Barking
  • One Less Worry
  • Make Hay
  • Goodbye
  • Voice Of The Sand
  • Kingdom Come

Pere Ubu New Picnic Time

Pere Ubu
New Picnic Time

(September 1979)
Produced by Pere Ubu and Ken Hamann.

Fire Records FIRECD363 cd:
Mar 18 2016 (UK)
Apr 29 2016 (ROW).
2015 Master.

Buy from Ubutique.


Digital transfer and remastering explained • Included in the Architecture Of Language box set

Release Notes

"I was intent on stretching the boundaries of the song," David Thomas recalls. "I pushed maybe too hard and not wisely. I was determined. 'All The Dogs Are Barking' was the breaking point for some. It was a pop song in the nature of what we had done before, a rock song with catchy hooks. I told Ken (Hamann, the engineer) to erase everything but the overdubs."

Chrysals was disappointed in the album and did not release it in America. The band did one tour of America, without a release, and at the end of it, Tom Herman left.

Production Notes

Engineered by Ken and Paul Hamann.
Recorded and mixed May 21-30 and June 4-28 1979 at Suma. Original lp mastered at Sterling Sound, New York City, under the supervision of Ken Hamann & Scott Krauss.
Artwork designed by John Thompson.
Photos by Mik Mellen.

2016 Master

The analog 1/4" 2-track mix tape from 1979 was digitally transferred by Paul Hamann at Suma at a 192khz / 24 bit resolution. Those files were mastered by Brian Pyle and with them Pete Norman cut the lacquers for vinyl at Finyl Tweek, London, on a Neumann VMS80 lathe. David Thomas prepared the download audio files from the 192khz / 24 bit masters. CD audio was produced by processing an analog signal run through the Sumex Brown Box converter, designed and built by Ken Hamann.

1994 Master

Digitally transferred and mastered by David Thomas and Paul Hamann at Suma in 1994. Songs written by Herman - Krauss - Maimone - Thomas - Ravenstine.
©1979 Fire Songs under license from Ubu Projex for North America, and Virgin Music-BMG VM Music Ltd. for Rest Of World. The words to 'Voice of The Sand' are taken from a poem by Vachel Lindsay.

Pere Ubu (v.3.2):

  • David Thomas - vocals, wood flute
  • Tom Herman - guitar, bass, pan gong, backing vocals
  • Allen Ravenstine - EML 101 and 200 analog synthesizers, piano, dice
  • Tony Maimone - bass, guitar, piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Scott Krauss - drums, percussion

Release History

  • Chrysalis Records
    • (UK) CHR 1248 Sep 1979 vinyl lp.
    • (Germany) Chrysalis/Phonogram 6307 678 vinyl lp.
  • Rough Trade Records
    • (NL) Rough Benelux RB2 1985 vinyl lp.
    • (UK) Rough CD 6003 1989 cd.
    • (US) Rough CD US 20 cd.
  • Get Back Records
    • (Italy) GET 59 4/99 vinyl lp (180g).
    • (Italy) GET 90059 2004 red-vinyl lp (140g) "lo-cost" logo on sleeve.
  • RTI Records CKV 2154 2 (Italy) cd.
  • Bomba BOM817 (Japan) 12/20/98 cd.
  • Thirsty Ear Records thi 57070.2 (US) 6/22/99 cd.
  • Cooking Vinyl COOK CD171 3/22/99 cd. (1994 Master)

Press Reaction

Dave McCullough, Sounds, 9/15/79
It's a drunken, wanton, wilful sounding album with a spine as elastic and as totally absorbing as Beefheart...exhilarating, funny, somehow very vital music.

John Orme, Melody Maker, 9/8/79
They don't ask to be loved, but they do invite it. Whichever, they are open to instant embrace or rejection. Their music doesn't float on calm waters: it submerges, spurts, takes rapids, often half-drowns on its back...Having fallen in a big way for the last Ubu album, I approached "New Picnic Time" with much suspicion... Ubu have developed a wider maturity in scope, feeling and atmosphere, and I can only praise them for it. Don't forget to laugh.

Scott Laurence, Herald-American, 7/5/99
Weird. Weird and wonderful. Weird, wonderful and so far beyond the expected that these deconstructions of popular music are as charmingly retro as the Beatles and as modern as today's blendings of funk, hip-hop and alt-rock. Revolutionary and demented yet full of fun, Pere Ubu are indispensible to any collection of 20th century rock.

Pere Ubu Blank Records
Pere Ubu, CBGBs, 1978.