FRONT OF Language DESIGN Architecture Of Language Pere Ubu 1979 - 1982

Fire Records
Released March 18 2016
FIRELP422, 4 lp (vinyl) box set

A Pessimist Is Never Disappointed, 3/17/2016
Architecture Of Language spotlights -- over and over -- those moments that made Pere Ubu such pioneers of sound. Everywhere on the 4 discs of this set is the material that would set these cats apart from any peers in the era. The music here is difficult and challenging and, at times at least, terrifying. This is brave, bold stuff all around and one should approach this with both an open mind and a bit of excitement at challenging one's boundaries when considering what makes up so-called alternative music....The natural progression from the hard edges of the band's earlier stuff, these 3 releases and 1 compilation chart the growth of this band of musicians as Artists. Risky, annoying, inspiring, and corrosive, the cuts spread across the expanse of this set showcase one of the great American bands. Compared to Pere Ubu, The Velvet Underground nearly sound like The Monkees. Concerned not one little bit with making pop, David Thomas and Pere Ubu instead crossed every genre before them with a mixture of bravado and absurd risk-taking. And yet, they still kept things largely concise and that's remarkable when one considers where music like this could have gone instead... Discover the tunes of perhaps some of the last real pioneers in American song-craft.
  • New Picnic Time, vinyl lp
    1. The Fabulous Sequel (3:07)
    2. 49 Guitars And One Girl (2:52)
    3. A Small Dark Cloud (5:49)
    4. Small Was Fast (3:39)
    5. All the Dogs Are Barking (3:02)
    6. One Less Worry (3:46)
    7. Make Hay (4:02)
    8. Goodbye (5:18)
    9. Voice Of The Sand (1:28)
    10. Kingdom Come (2:52)
  • The Art Of Walking, vinyl lp
    1. Go (2:56)
    2. Rhapsody In Pink (3:35)
    3. Arabia (5:00)
    4. Young Miles In The Basement (3:00)
    5. Misery Goats (2:38)
    6. Loop (3:15)
    7. Rounder (3:25)
    8. Birdies (2:27)
    9. Lost In Art (5:12)
    10. Horses (2:36)
    11. Crush This Horn (3:02)
  • Song Of The Bailing Man, vinyl lp
    1. The Long Walk Home (2:34)
    2. Use Of A Dog (3:17)
    3. Petrified (2:16)
    4. Stormy Weather (3:20)
    5. West Side Story (2:46)
    6. Thoughts That Go By Steam (3:47)
    7. Big Ed's Used Farms (2:24)
    8. The Vulgar Boatman Bird (2:49)
    9. A Day Such As This
    10. My Hat (1:19)
    11. Horns Are A Dilemma (4:21)
  • Architectural Salvage, vinyl lp
    1. Humor Me - live (2:52)
    2. The Book Is On The Table (4:02)
    3. All The Dogs Are Barking - alt mix 4 (3:47)
    4. Arabian Nights (3:58)
    5. Tribute To Miles (4:17)
    6. Horses - alt mix 3 (2:36)
    7. Rounder - alt mix 1 (3:55)
    8. Not Happy (3:40)
    9. Lonesome Cowboy Dave (1:54)
  • A3 sized Coed Jail poster by Johnny Dromette

  • Code for free audio downloads
Pere Ubu explained If you really want to understand what Pere Ubu does, read this.

BioPhotosLyrics to New Picnic TimeLyrics to The Art Of WalkingLyrics to Song Of The Bailing Man

Follow Ubu Projex news on: TwitterFacebook

'Architectural Salvage' is the bonus disk consisting of these songs:
Humor Me - live
The Book Is On The Table
The Fabulous Sequel' was released as a single in October 1979 (Chrysalis Records CHS2372). These two songs appeared on the B side. 'The Book Is On The Table' was an out-take from the 'Dub Housing' sessions. The French lesson was recorded by Ann Titolo. 'Humor Me' was recorded December 5 1978 in concert at London College of Printing.
All The Dogs Are Barking - alt mix 4
This alternate mix was the last stage of the journey to the album mix.
Arabian Nights
Tribute To Miles
Horses - alt mix 3
Rounder - alt mix 1
Not Happy
Lonesome Cowboy Dave
Released as a single by Rough Trade Records RT066 in February 1981 and later that year in the US as Rough Trade Records RTUS004. Engineered by Paul Hamann at Suma. Mixed by Adam Kidron, Geoff Travis and Mayo Thompson in London. Artwork by David and Mary Thomas.

Between 1975 and 1982, Pere Ubu recorded one out-take, 'The Book Is On The Table.' (During 'The Modern Dance' sessions a track called 'Byzantine' was started but never had vocals written for it.)

Studio time was expensive and the band would keep track of how much time was recorded. When the total reached thirty-six minutes they stopped. That was considered the optimal length of a vinyl LP. There were no alternate mixes until 'New Picnic Time' but 'The Art Of Walking' sessions were the first to yield a significant number. Under the guidance of engineer Ken Hamann the band would arrive at an agreed mix and move on to the next song. Nothing was worked on that one was not released.

Two versions of 'The Art Of Walking' came out in 1980. 'Arabia' was recorded as an instrumental. After complaints from the record company about too many such tracks, an irritated David Thomas quickly improvised vocals and the track was remixed. 'Tribute To Miles, aka 'Young Miles In The Basement,' was remixed and vocals added. A second master was cut but a mixup at the pressing plant meant that the original master was used, after all, for the first production run in June. The corrected pressing followed in August.

Production Notes:
The analog 1/4" 2-track mix masters from 1979 to 1982 were digitally transferred by Paul Hamann at Suma at a 192khz / 24 bit resolution. The resultant digital files were mastered by Brian Pyle. The vinyl was cut by Pete Norman at Finyl Tweek in London, on a Neumann VMS80 lathe. David Thomas prepared the download audio files from the 192khz / 24 bit masters.

Purchase of either cd or vinyl comes with free codes for download of MP3 (VBR), MP3 (320 kbps), FLAC, Apple Lossless, AAC (iTunes), or Ogg Vorbis audio files.

Back to the Top

Main Pages at the Home of Ubu Projex:
CalendarContactsHomeReferenceProtocolsUbutique (Shop) • Press Center

garage icon
An Irony-Free™ Site

Copyright & Terms of UsageSite MapAbout Us
Twitter: @ubuprojex • Pere Ubu Facebook: official.ubu